OHHHHMMMmygoodness I need to make some changes.

The last few months have been extremely stressful for me. Between work, trying to begin the process of planning a wedding (and more importantly, a marriage), my shoulder injury, and just the everyday chaos of living in NYC, it’s all started to take a toll on my energy and body.

I finished physical therapy about a month ago, and it’s been amazing to come home immediately after work (and not have to spend $50 a week on an inconvenience). My shoulder is mostly better, but it still pops and gets sore frequently. I’ve been going to my regular ballet class for about a month, and I can do everything except a few port de bras (arm) moves. I haven’t been doing the stretches that my physical therapist assigned, and I’m getting worried that my shoulder is starting to revert back to injury mode. I really don’t want that to happen, and it’s stressful to have a constantly sore shoulder.

Another area that my stress from the last few months has manifested itself is on my face. (Sorry if this paragraph is gross….) When I was a teenager, I had fantastic skin. Then when I was around 22, I started getting random breakouts. I’ve been using Proactiv off and on since then, but the last few weeks, my skin’s gotten out of control. I’ve had 4 GIGANTIC blemishes (one at a time) that turned into massive red scabby bruises that lasted almost two weeks. Ew. I’ve tried so many different remedies, and nothing seems to work. I think it’s time for some major stress relief activity – and a dermatologist.

So, I definitely need to do something. Like always, Groupon sensed that I needed some stress relief, and offered a 20 Yoga Classes for $20 deal – at the yoga studio right off my subway stop! I obviously bought it (because really, if I go to only 2 classes, I’m still getting a huge discount). I have to use the classes within 45 days after starting them, so that’ll be a pretty intense schedule. They have something every day in the evening, and I’m going to try to do all of the classes on my Groupon.  I recently had a ballet Groupon for my school (yeah! they did a second one!), and I didn’t get to use all 10 classes in 5 weeks (largely because of physical therapy). Even though the 6 classes I made it to cost less than the normal price, I was bummed that I didn’t make it to them all. Now I’m just going once a week.

Since I have tomorrow off, I’m starting with the mid-day “lunchtime bliss” yoga class. I’m looking forward to it. I’ve taken yoga before, but had trouble getting into the spiritual part of it. I don’t know if that’ll happen again, but I do know that I’m craving the stretching and relaxation part of it. I don’t think I’m going to turn into one of those people who swears by yoga and thinks it’s the best thing ever, but we’ll see. Like any other athletic endeavor I’ve tried, I know I can at least get into the clothes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

