Apparently, I really rely on my left shoulder

I started to write a list of what’s happened since my last post, but then I realized my last post was a list of what had happened since the post before that. This isn’t a list blog.

The most exciting (?) thing in my life lately is my sexy shoulder injury. I did something weird to it while putting together the ikea furniture. I went to the doctor right away, and was told it was just a muscle strain, and was given muscle relaxers. I missed ballet for three weeks, and when I went back, I couldn’t even lift my arm long enough to hold the barre or do most arm movements that are part of a normal ballet class.

On Wednesday this week, I woke up and it suddenly hurt more than usual. I called the (general practice) doctor I had gone to earlier and got a referral for a physiatrist. I was able to get an appointment that afternoon, where I discovered that I had three major things wrong with my shoulder. Impingement, inflammation, and tendonitis? (there were much longer names that went along with them, but I don’t remember what they were).

Anyway, as I was telling the doctor about what was going on, he diagnosed it and started listing symptoms I probably (=definitely) had as soon as I said “I was putting together some Ikea furniture….” Then he said he was prescribing some pills for the inflammation, a cortisone shot, and physical therapy. Yeah, the shot was terrible, and my arm felt sore all afternoon.

I start physical therapy next week. I should have to go about twice a week for 3-4 weeks, but it should fix it enough that I can do ballet again.

In the meantime, I’m discovering how much I rely on my left shoulder. I normally sleep on my left side, and now I can’t do that (and Andy wakes me up throughout the night to make me roll over so I don’t do that). While I’ve never had any upper body strength, it’s reached a whole new low. It hurts to pick up dishes, carry my purse, and even pick up Tinker. I’m left-handed, but I don’t really write that often anyway, so that hasn’t been affected too much (and luckily I use my mouse at work and home with my right hand…).

I’ll try to write more often. Really. Karen and Jared were here last weekend, and we had a great visit. Maybe Karen can write that post. πŸ™‚ I’ve booked my trip to go back to Indiana for Christmas, and I’m really looking forward to getting away for a week. The only thing we’re doing for Thanksgiving is seeing The Muppets, and I’m really excited about it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apparently, I really rely on my left shoulder

  1. Seashell says:

    I can’t wait to see the new Muppet movie!!! I sure hope you shoulder gets to feeling better soon. Have a Happy Thanksgiving! Make Andy lift the turkey. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

