So what’s my “normal” now?

My last week of nearly four months of unemployment is just about over. I’m SO ready for my life to get back to normal!!

But now I have to figure out what “normal” is, because it’s going to be different than what it was last spring. With the exception of having to get up and go somewhere every day and actually having disposable income, most of my life didn’t change THAT much while I was unemployed. We didn’t get rid of cable, and we didn’t cut out using a laundry service or going out to eat (but we did do those things less frequently). But my life will still change a lot this time around.

I’m excited to finally go back to going to ballet more than once a week. But I may throw in an occasional Pilates class at my ballet school, because I need some of the strength training I’d get in it (and I’m sure not joining a gym). I’d ideally like to do two ballet classes a week, and two Pilates classes a month. I know in January my goal was to get really good at ballet, and now I feel like I can get back on track with that.

I won’t be able to wear jeans every day and get up at 8:30 or 9, because I’ll be in a “normal” office that has a dress code and expects me to show up at 8:30. I haven’t had to be at work that early in more than a year, so that will be an adjustment. I’m actually going to have to get up before 7, and that will be hard for me because I haven’t done on a regular basis that since high school. I function best when I can get up around 8:30, but I can compensate for it with my other boyfriend Earl Grey. I’m going to try to eat breakfast and take Tinker for actual walks in the mornings. If I have to start a new routine, I might as well throw in some good habits, right?

I bought some new work clothes (and by that, I mean the second after I clicked “send” on officially accepting my job, I went to the other tab I had open at the Gap website, and clicked “Complete Order”). I haven’t had to dress like an adult for 5 days in a row every week since I lived in Indiana. I love my new clothes, and they all mix and match and can easily become fall clothes when cardigans and leggings are added. I have my new short hair too, and I may even actually wear makeup occasionally. I wanted to step up my New York look a bit, and this is a good time I guess. I can’t wait for fall.

I’m also not going to spend as much time online. As a general rule, I don’t get on Facebook at work (unless it is specifically for work, but that only happened at one job). I’ve been meaning to cut back on internet time anyway, and between my computer dying last week and me going back to work next week, now seems like a good time. I will probably buy a new Mac in the next few weeks/months, but I want to try to make a dent in my credit card debt first. I fortunately haven’t had to use my credit cards during unemployment, but I also haven’t been able to pay more than the minimum payments, so I’m not anywhere near where I want to be financially right now. I’ll get there soon.

I’m really excited about all of these changes, even if they’ll make me really exhausted. I’m going to keep blogging, but I’m not sure what I’ll be blogging about, because I don’t typically write about my work. I can’t wait to get back to work, because I’ve felt pretty lazy lately (especially this week, since I haven’t had to work or job search. I’ve read lots of books and watched too much TV).

I know you’re all excited about having a three-day weekend, but I’m excited that three-day weekends are actually going to mean something to me again soon. The last few have just blended in with all the other days off I’ve had.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So what’s my “normal” now?

  1. Seashell says:

    Best of Luck with the new job. I hope you love it!

Leave a Reply

