Hurricane Update

As you know, I’m in New York City. And my new friend Hurricane Irene is on her way here. I’ve been getting a lot of text/tweets/facebook messages from people asking if we’re okay, so I just wanted to let you all know that we are.

We live in Astoria, sort of near the water. Our apartment is RIGHT on the edge of evacuation zone C. (See a map here) Right now, Zone A and part of Zone B have to evacuate by 5 pm today, because they’re closest to the water and lower to the ground. They started shutting down all public transit at noon today.

We stocked up on bottled water, candles, food, cash, and batteries. Most of the stores around here are pretty picked over for supplies, but we went shopping yesterday and got everything.

Last night, we packed up all of Andy’s electronics (hard drives, xbox and film equipment) in plastic and moved it all as far away from the windows as possible. We also moved our TV behind the couch and taped up our windows (we’re on the fourth floor, and there are a lot of trees outside our apartment).

We decided to go over to our friend Erin’s apartment, because she lives in the safe zone (so, not in ANY of the evac zones) further inland. We called a car and went over at 9:30 this morning so we wouldn’t have to try to deal with trying to get a car when the trains aren’t running.

Now we’re camping out here. So far, it’s just been rainy. We’re not supposed to get serious storms until tonight/tomorrow. The only issue we have right now is that Erin’s cats are afraid of Tinker, but they’re fine. We’re all safe.

I’ll try to update on Facebook/Twitter if anything changes. Last night, while we were packing things up, the hard drive to my computer died. I’ve had the computer for four years, and it’s worked perfectly up until last night. (I’m using Andy’s computer right now). I’ll worry about that after the hurricane, but it may require purchasing a new computer in a few weeks after I start getting paychecks again. That kind of bums me out, because I totally love my Macbook, and they don’t make them anymore. 😦

I don’t start my new job until right after labor day, so the storm shouldn’t affect anything there. I’ll keep you all posted!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hurricane Update

  1. oxymoron1856 says:

    Glad to hear you are taking this seriously. Stay Safe! 🙂

  2. Marianne says:

    Thanks for the update! Be safe. We are all thinking of you.

  3. Diana says:

    When I first read this, I thought you stocked up on bottled water, CANDIES, and food and thought candy sounds much better than just candles, although I suppose candles are more practical.

  4. Kristin says:

    Haha! Based on how much impact the storm actually had on our area, candies would have been a better choice…

  5. Pingback: So, I’m married, and survived the hurricane. | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

