Things are gonna change; I can feel it.

I’ve been job searching off and on for the past four months. I’ve done the daily rounds of checking various job boards, applying to a few jobs here and there through annoying online systems, and emailing cover letters and resumes into what seems like a black hole.

Enough is enough.

Everyone says that when you’re job searching, you need to make it a full-time job, and spend eight hours a day working on your job search. You need to carry business cards and find a way to “get in the back door” of companies. You need to work your networks as much as possible, and find ways around typical job application procedures. Network, network, network, right?

I haven’t really been doing any of that- until recently. Why, you ask? Because I am painfully introverted. I don’t like to bother people, and I feel like people will be annoyed if I call them. I LOVE email; and since that’s my preferred method of contact, that’s how I tend to contact other people. I haven’t spent my entire days job searching, because (at least, with the online-only approach I was taking) it was too depressing and draining. I have enjoyed splitting my days between job searching, doing things around the house, and working on various personal projects.

But, again, enough is enough.

I’m the first one to admit it: I’ve been using social media/the internet as a crutch in my job search. It’s easy to sit around in my pajamas while job searching online, blaming the economy and crazy companies for why I’m still unemployed. But (warning! cliche job search quote alert!), as they say, “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.” – Albert Einstein

And my job search has definitely been driving me insane. I thought I had been handling it well emotionally, and I was until Thursday night. I had a bit of a meltdown that was fortunately only witnessed by Andy. It was cathartic (I’m many things, but I am NOT a crier- except for Thursday night), and made me realize that I need to change.

So today I met with a recruiter who I had connected with on Twitter, Steve Levy. And he gave me some excellent advice about how I should be approaching my job search. I can still do most of it online, but I now know better ways to target my search and find the right people to contact. I feel like I have much better direction than I had before. I need to get over my fears of talking to people I don’t know, and I need to take much more initiative than I have been.

After I met with him, I spent a few hours at Union Square park with my computer and a big cup of tea. Even the simple act of having a change of scenery did wonders for my mood. Andy’s been working from home a lot lately, and our apartment is not big enough for both of us to work in. We both get distracted by each other too easily, and we share a desk/desk chair. I’ll need to start spending more time working on things outside of my apartment, because this was just lovely. It wasn’t too hot out, and there was a live jazz band playing. And free wi-fi!

I also met with my friend Alisha from KickApps to talk about doing some email marketing for her new startup, taptank (which you should totally check out. It’s a way to use your social networks to achieve your goals, and it’s going to be huge!)  I’m excited to have an email marketing project to work on again, because I really do miss it. I’m especially excited to be able to build it from the ground up. I don’t even mind doing a little pro-bono work for it at first until the company gets more funding; I just want to work.

You hear that, New York? I JUST WANT TO WORK.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Things are gonna change; I can feel it.

  1. Anni says:

    The economy and employment situation is so frustrating right now… and as someone who also inhabits a small city apartment, I know what you mean about driving each other crazy! I hope you have luck soon.

  2. Kristin says:

    Thanks! 🙂

  3. Mary says:

    Kristin, I learned all these things the hard way too! You might enjoy this video about ‘job search paralysis’ by J.T. O’Donnell:
    http://www.careerealism.com/job-search-paralysis/
    She advocates job search for 5 hours a day as she says you need the other hours to re-energize yourself. Somedays that is 5 hours more than I have been looking 🙂
    All the best to you and your job search!

  4. Steve Levy says:

    Awwww thanks Kristin; if it helps, I too was a shy one (still am though few believe me). Now I can easily move between online and on-stage – just changed my POV. It was like learning to run hills; I would charge up them saying, “I love this hill. I love this hill.”

    I believe most jobseekers are really shy – they just are tired of rejection (who isn’t) so they hide behind emails, tweets, FB messages, etc. But the richness of a person can only be gleaned from a face to face convo, even better when it’s someone who is in your target zone. So feel free to call me when you have your target list and I’ll see who I know.

    • Kristin says:

      Thanks again for all your help! 🙂

      I think you’re right about being tired of rejection and hiding behind the internet. But I think a lot of employers are also hiding behind the internet, and using online app systems/email as a way to avoid actual contact with applicants.

  5. Alisha Outridge says:

    I’m excited to work with you on tapTank’s email marketing too! You are always so organized and on top of things. If you find some events to go to bring me along as a wing girl – I can help circulate you around the room & break the ice! It’s a great way to network & Andrej can come too so there is strength in numbers.

    • Kristin says:

      Aw, thanks! I need to work on the tapTank emails some more this weekend. I’m so excited for the launch!

      And yes, we should go out networking sometime! You’re so much better at talking to people than I am.

  6. Pingback: 7 Things that were helpful to me in my job search/unemployment | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

