Living in NYC is exactly like TV told me it would be like

As you all know, I grew up watching NBC’s Thursday night lineup pretty religiously. I still do. Most of the time, I’d rather watch a rerun of Friends or Seinfeld than a new show.

These shows definitely misrepresent life here, to say the least. Well, at least life now. Maybe it was different in the ’90s.  Anyway, last night felt a little bit like an episode of Seinfeld. I went to a friend’s stand-up comedy show.

Andy and I have a group of friends here that went to college with us (well, the same school we went to, but before I went there. Andy worked on a sketch show with them in school). There are five of them in this particular group, and they all still live together. They’re a lot of fun, and several of them actually get paid to be funny. They have a public access TV show in Queens called Technically Tomorrow (you should watch it- it’s funny!)

So one of these friends, Kevin McCaffrey, is a legit comedian. We’ve seen him perform at some smaller venues, but last night he co-headlined at Gotham Comedy Club, which is kind of a big name in the stand-up world. Andy and I bought our tickets ahead of time, and we got there a little early.

When we first walked in, we were bombarded by people telling us to look for our name tags. There was a table filled with name tags that all said “Irish American Bar Association” on them. We knew Kevin was Irish, and I knew he and his friends drink a lot (in a fun way, not a destructive way….), so I thought it might be some kind of weird Andy Kauffman-esque part of the show. So Andy and I made name tags, and the lady at the table told us they would be for the open bar. Sweet.

We got to our table and looked at the drink menus. A waitress came by and explained the two drink minimum. We were kind of confused for a while because we had been told there was an open bar because of the name tags.

Yeah, it turns out the Irish American Bar Association (the lawyer kind of bar, not the fun kind of bar. And not my kind of barre) was having a networking event at the show because some of Kevin’s family members were in it. Oh.

What's the DEAL with these name tags?

So we spent our $40 on Blue Moons and enjoyed the show. All four performers were really funny, and it was worth the money.

Right after the show, Andy had to leave to go to a UCB rehearsal, but I hung around to congratulate Kevin and see our other friends. A few of us had gotten the name tags, which apparently entitled us to go downstairs to the open bar (the fun drinking kind, not the lawyer or ballet kind). I went downstairs for about 20 seconds, and then realized that I didn’t want to network with a bunch of lawyers, especially given my current employment status (and yes, I am aware that maybe I really should have tried to meet people with jobs).

So a few of our group stayed with the Irish lawyers, and the rest of us went to a nearby bar. I hung around for a while, and then met up with Andy around midnight and rode the train home with him.

One thing I love about living here is that there are so many fun things to do (even though I rarely do them), and that our friends here are all doing really cool things.

You can see more pictures from the show here. I might be awkwardly in the back of some of them….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Living in NYC is exactly like TV told me it would be like

  1. Seashell says:

    Great photo of the two of you!

Leave a Reply

