A very Royal Wedding internship

This past week, I took a 5 day internship at The Knot to help the PR department with some of the many news segments they were doing to cover the Royal Wedding. I thought it would be fun to be somewhere that’s at the center of all the excitement, and I’ve always found the company fascinating- they’re AMAZING at keeping their online community engaged (haha, engaged- because they already are anyway!), and their site seems to be the go-to place for brides planning their weddings.

Let me just say a few things about internships in general first:
1. I was VERY lucky with the internships I did in/immediately after college. Both were paid an hourly rate that was ABOVE minimum wage (one was $8/hr and one was $12/hr, and these were both more than 4 years ago, when the minimum wage was lower). Both of those internships involved mostly sitting at a desk and writing or researching things. Both of those internships had supervisors who went to Ball State too. I think Ball State grads understand the importance of making internships a valuable experience for the intern, not just for the company. I respect that a ton, and plan to do the same if I ever get an intern.

2. While I’ve always believed this, it’s even stronger now: Interns should be PAID. Even if it’s minimum wage. A “small stipend” that makes the hourly rate less than a cup of coffee at McDonald’s is a bit ridiculous. Even if the intern is getting school credit, it’s completely unacceptable to expect someone to work full time as an intern. Yo, we gots to eat too.

Okay, despite all that, the internship was really interesting, exhausting, and fascinating all at once. I spent a big chunk of it running errands in cabs- delivering hats and dresses and shopping for various items we needed for segments. On Friday, I got to go to one of the shoots, and I spent the day helping with fittings for the models and keeping everyone organized and on track while they filmed two bridal fashion segments for a local news station- at Oheka Castle, in Long Island (if that name sounds familiar- that’s where one of the Jonas Brothers got married. If that’s why you recognized the name- LOL. You know too much about the Jo-Bros.). Hair and makeup for the segment took much longer than planned, and one of the models had to leave. I almost had to go on for her. They had me try on a dress, but then decided there wouldn’t have been enough time for hair and makeup, so they just cut the dress (which was a HUGE relief for me- even though the dress was pretty, I definitely wasn’t feeling up to modeling on TV…) There’s a picture of me in the dress on my phone, but I can’t figure out how to get it on here (someone texted it to me.) My friend Hayley from my ballet class was there because her little sister was one of the models, and that made the day a lot more fun.

Other projects I worked on include: researching what Will and Kate’s cake might look like, writing trivia questions about Will and Kate, and wrangling about 30 dresses that were called in for a Today Show “Splurge and Steal” segment. That’s right. I held Pnina Tornei dresses from Kleinfeld (Sidenote: I watch “Say Yes To The Dress” pretty religiously). I held a gorgeous Badgley Mischka dress. I would say it was totally awesome, but these dresses were HUGE and weighed a ton, and I had to carry them around and keep track of where they were supposed to be sent, coordinate their delivery, and in a few cases- deliver them myself. In between all that, I helped the other intern decorate plastic champagne glasses for a “How to throw a Royal Wedding Viewing Party” Regis and Kelly segment (which, sadly, was preempted but the most ridiculously unnecessary presidential press conference ever. Seriously, Trump?). If anyone finds the video of this online, let me know- I really want to see it!

Overall, it was an interesting experience, but I’m really glad it was only five days. I came home every night completely exhausted and unable to move. Also, I now have at least 4 bruises on my legs from bumping into things while carrying dresses around, and my toe that I broke 2 years ago suddenly started hurting a ton yesterday (which I attribute to doing all that running around- in heels. Ballet was definitely a challenge yesterday!).

I really liked working at The Knot! The office was totally cute and girly, and there were dresses and fake cakes everywhere. I could see myself working there more (on that note- cross your fingers, because I had an interview there yesterday for an email marketing job!).

Are you going go watch the Royal Wedding? I have it set to record, but I just might get up at 4 am to drink Earl Grey and watch it. If I do that, I’ll definitely live tweet it at @kristinyc.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A very Royal Wedding internship

  1. Seashell says:

    Sounds like it was so much fun! Best of luck on getting the job there!

  2. Julie says:

    my friend kimi is the model in the say yes to the dress opener 🙂 or at least she was when it first premiered, not sure if they’ve changed it.

    • Kristin says:

      How cool! I think there’s a newer version of the opener, but I watch reruns all the time that have the original. How does one get THAT gig?

  3. Kristin says:

    Fun may not be the right word for the WHOLE experience, but I definitely learned a lot! And I love dresses, so that part was kind of fun.

  4. Jess says:

    How cool! And I can’t wait to hear more about this potential job!

  5. Pingback: The One Where I’ve lived in NYC for a Year | The Settlers Give it Passion

  6. maria says:

    did you get the job at The Knot???

Leave a Reply

