I’m as good as them, but don’t take it from me

My enthusiasm re: unemployment started to dwindle toward the end of last week. It got rainy and cold.  I wasn’t hearing back from anyone. Companies don’t post as many jobs at the end of the week, so I felt like I had exhausted all of my options.

So I did what any normal person would do, and ate a box of Tagalongs (or Peanut Butter Patties, if you’re me) and watched a Project Runway marathon on Friday afternoon/evening. Over the weekend, I took a break from job hunting, and it was kind of nice.

This morning, I had an appointment with a career counselor at NYU (because it’s included in my tuition for my classes- so why not?). He gave me a few projects to work on in the next week to help me figure out exactly what I want to do professionally and how to make it happen. Awesome!

On my way out the door from that meeting, I checked my phone and had an email about an interview at a place I had applied to last week! And then later this afternoon- another email about ANOTHER interview! And after that- an offer for a really super awesome weeklong internship involving the Royal Wedding (yeah, be jealous). So, things are good. Fantastic, actually.

Another good (but less exciting) thing- I got my last paycheck and severance on Friday. I’d been using a program called Wageworks, where they send me a metrocard every month that is paid for with pre-tax dollars. Andy and I have been sharing my April card (because they’re $104/month, and it’s rare that we both need to go to Manhattan at the same time). It turns out, I paid for my May card with my last check, so that came in the mail today.

The backs of metrocards usually have various quotes, or URLs for the MTA site, or other relevant info. The card I got in the mail today had the same design that my very first metrocard had. I think it fits my life right now.

EDIT: Also, I almost forgot. This is my 100th post on this blog! Happy blog birthday! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m as good as them, but don’t take it from me

  1. Seashell says:

    Best of luck on the interviews!

  2. Lisa says:

    For the record… I *am* jealous about your weeklong internship with the Royal Wedding! Are you London bound?

Leave a Reply

