This isn’t so bad…

I totally love being at home full-time, during the day. The weather was gorgeous yesterday, and I took Tinker for two (TWO!) nice, long walks in the middle of the day. I’ve had the windows open since yesterday, because it’s already at the time of year when it’s necessary. I’m going to try to wait as long as possible to install our air conditioner for the summer, but we’ll see how that goes considering we’re on the top floor of our building, and it gets pretty hot in here.

I’m still in good spirits. I’ve been applying for jobs, updating my Linkedin profile, and organizing other areas of my life. The apartment’s already much cleaner, because I seem to constantly notice things that need to be cleaned, and I’ll stop whatever I’m working on to dust the TV stand or re-arrange my desk so I can put a lamp on it. Now I need to buy another lamp, because I took the one from my nightstand to put on my desk, but it’s a huge improvement to the workspace.

I actually really wouldn’t mind working from home (at least part-time). I love how quiet it is, having natural sunlight, the ability to take Tinker for a walk in the middle of the day and cook lunch at home. Tea tastes infinitely better when the water’s heated from a kettle on the stove rather than poured from the water cooler/heater (and I don’t constantly refill my cup of tea all day – I’m only on my second cup today, and I normally would have had at least four or five by this time of day).

I’m not sitting around in my pajamas all day either (although I am dressed even more casually than I did at my last workplace – t-shirts/hoodies and straight leg jeans instead of cardigans and skinny jeans). When I go back to work, I think I’m not going to wear jeans every day, even if I can. I’m glad it’s getting warm out, because I love wearing skirts. I think I need to be in an environment where I can wear cute clothes but not draw unwanted male attention to myself when I do.

I’ve been slowly tackling items on my “unemployment free time” list. I’ve already finished and (hopefully correctly this time) re-filed my NYS taxes. I’ve re-organized my budget and figured out how long I can keep afloat financially (and it’s slightly longer than I originally thought!). I’m going to tackle the bookshelf soon, but it very possibly might require either a trip to ikea for another shelf or a trip to goodwill to get rid of a lot of books. Still not sure which is better/easier.

Tonight I have my online blogging class, and tomorrow night I’m going back to ballet. I didn’t go to ballet on Sunday or last Wednesday, which feels like forever. I’m going to keep up with my classes (and I’ve worked them into my budget- not having to eat lunch in Manhattan every day saves a lot of money!), even if they have to be once a week instead of twice. I’m glad that I still have things like that to keep me busy and mentally engaged.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This isn’t so bad…

  1. Seashell says:

    Wow Kristin! Your energy being unemployed puts me to shame. I’ve been laid off for 5 weeks and haven’t gotten much of my list crossed off yet. But I’m working on it. I know exactly what you mean about taking a walk in the middle of the day. Willow has been loving having mommy home all day!

  2. Pingback: 7 Things that were helpful to me in my job search/unemployment | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

