For now we’re healthy; for now we’re employed

Except…not.  Last week was kind of rough for me, but I just want to let anyone reading this know that I’m perfectly fine, and actually pretty relieved.

So, on Tuesday, I woke up feeling fine. I went in to work as usual, but after a few hours, my head was suddenly hit with BAM! COLD! Instant congestion/headache/sore throat. Yuck. I went home mid-day, and stayed home Wednesday as well. I still wasn’t feeling great Thursday and Friday, but I went into the office anyway.

There have been a lot of major changes at my company in the last few months. The biggest one was that we were acquired by a bigger company that is based in Prague. It’s been kind of chaotic as everyone tried to figure out what to do and how it would affect our day-to-day business. It turns out, they’re phasing out my company’s brand and using the new parent company’s brand, which totally makes sense for the company. However, my job was to do marketing and corporate communications for the brand that’s disappearing. It’s no longer needed, and I was laid off Friday afternoon. Given all the changes that were happening, I wasn’t entirely shocked. It was definitely classified as a layoff, and was not remotely performance based.

I have a few weeks’ severance and can stay afloat financially for a few months (and could get unemployment if I needed to). Now I’m just getting back to the job search and enjoying having time at home. I’m doing what I did for my last job search when my temp job ended: I made a long list of other (non-work) projects that I wanted to do. My plan again is to spend my mornings job searching and my afternoons working on list tasks (things like “organize/purge books,” “work on my novel,” “make Tinker’s scrapbook” and “get a NYC driver’s license”). I’m looking forward to having the time to work on those things.

I’m optimistic about my job search too. I’ve decided that if I’m going to stay in marketing, it is absolutely essential that the product I’m marketing is something that I care about, understand, and genuinely believe in promoting. I’d love to get back in the non-profit sector, because I think that corporate culture suits me much better than “aggressive tech startup.” I want to work with people who are passionate about their work, but not because of money or potential power. I’ve learned a lot about about what I do and do not want in my career, and I’m happy for that.

I’ll miss a lot of the people I worked with, but I’m sure there will be plenty of opportunities to see them again. A bunch of us went out for drinks and karaoke Friday night, and it was exactly what I needed. I’m not mad at anyone at the company, or the company itself (despite some of my karaoke song choices…), and it was a good way to end things.

So, don’t worry about me. I’ve felt surprisingly “zen” all weekend, and I’m looking forward to moving on to the next thing.

For now we’re happy, if not overjoyed.
And we’ll accept the things we cannot avoid- for now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to For now we’re healthy; for now we’re employed

  1. The coolest guy in the world. says:

    I think your karaoke song choices were above par, and perhaps due to alcohol, they sounded above par as well. 😉

    Good luck with the job search, you’ll be missed in the office!

    • Kristin says:

      Only because I had a fabulous backup singer. 🙂

      Thanks! I’ll miss you too. Let me know if you need any snappy remarks to say to your brother.

  2. Seashell says:

    Ah Kristin, I’m so sorry you have to go through the job search, but I’m sure you’ll find something you like much better. Best of luck in your hunt!

    • Kristin says:

      Thanks Shell! I’m pretty okay with it- I think it’s all for the best. I hope your search is going well.

  3. Cristella says:

    I’m sorry Kristin. You will find something even better. I’m sure of it!

    It’s good that you’re being very “zen” about this. I didn’t know you were writing a novel!

  4. Marianne says:

    “Don’t stress, Relax…just let life roll off you back”
    “Everything in life….is only For Now”

  5. Kristin, your post makes me feel zen too! Your karaoke choices rocked. I love your approach here to decide what to do next with non-work and work related tasks too. Good luck! I’m super excited to see what your next phase is but I will miss you in the office

  6. Pingback: In which I offically become a legal New Yorker | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

