The blues are still blue

Since I moved to New York, my absolute least favorite chore has been laundry. I didn’t mind it at all when I had a washer and dryer in my apartment. And the year I didn’t, it wasn’t that big of a deal to throw my laundry in my car and go to the laundromat in Broad Ripple (which had wi-fi).

But here… there is no washer/dryer in my apartment. Not even in my building. It’s 4 blocks away. And we have two people in our household, so it’s twice as much laundry.  We usually only get around to it every 3 weeks or so. It’s really cold right now. It’s really inconvenient- we have to go get cash (it usually costs about $10 for 2 big loads of laundry including drying) and drop off the laundry. Then we usually go home in between each step in the process, but overall it’s almost 3 hours. And then we have to bring everything home and fold it. Yuck. I don’t like spending that much time on laundry.

So today, on my day off, I decided to try a pick up service. I looked them up online, and found one nearby that had good reviews on Yelp, Glo-Brite. I’m planning on leaving a positive review after I finish writing this.

Around 10:30 this morning, I called. They came to my apartment and picked up my 2 huge ikea bags full of laundry, and said it would be done around 3. I spent my morning cleaning and running errands, and then came back around 2:30. At 3, he called to make sure I was home, and then brought my laundry. It was $19 total. So yes, it costs a little more than doing the laundry myself, but the convenience is absolutely worth it. I’m probably still going to wash bedding and towels on my own at the laundromat, but not having to do the clothes is awesome.

Does this make me an official New Yorker yet?

EDIT: I just put away all the clean clothes, and they smell SO. GOOD.  I don’t think I’m ever going to be able to do my own laundry again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The blues are still blue

  1. Seashell says:

    Yes Kristin, I think it’s official. You ARE a New Yorker! I could not imagine having to do laundry like you were doing. I think that service is well worth the money.

  2. If you hadn’t ended up with this outcome, I would have suggested it. Either a pick up or at least dropping off laundry is really a key to sanity in NY! Of course there was the day I was timing my ferry trip back from my job on Staten Island around getting back to my neighborhood in time to retrieve the laundry before the launromat closed…

  3. Pingback: Spring Cleaning, NYC edition | The Settlers Give it Passion

  4. Pingback: The One Where I’ve lived in NYC for a Year | The Settlers Give it Passion

  5. Pingback: In which I get a new job for my birthday. Again. | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

