You cannot fight the television

So, after living here for 9 months (Andy for 8), we’ve finally decided to get cable. WHOA, right? When I lived by myself, I didn’t have cable. When I had roommates, we did. Honestly, I can take it or leave it for the most part.

But still.

Let’s face it. I watch a LOT of TV. Like, a LOT, a lot. For absolutely no reason at all. Especially considering I only have about 12 channels, and how terrible most network TV is.  Pretty much, from when I get home at night until when I go to bed, the TV is on. Even if I’m not watching it.

A typical evening when it’s not summer (and when I don’t have ballet or, you know, a life. So, 3-4 nights a week):

Get home- 7. Jeopardy (while cooking/eating dinner).
7:30. Office reruns or Wheel of Fortune
8-11 Whatever’s on primetime (1st choice- good scripted sitcoms such as NBC’s Thursday lineup minus Outsourced,* 2nd- interesting documentary on PBS, 3rd- Bad game shows 4th- Reality shows (except for Fridays, when SuperNanny, What Would You Do, and/or Kitchen Nightmares win).
11-11:30 News, or more Office Re-runs
11:30-12 Seinfeld
12-12:30 Simpsons or Friends
12:30-1 (yeah, I kid you not..I really do stay up this late for RERUNS) Curb Your Enthusiasm
1-1:30 Entourage

And this is just during the week. Granted, we usually are both doing something on our computers while all this TV is happening (unfortunately, it usually involved Facebook…).  We’re both often writing (sketches and blogs..) or catching up on email during this. I don’t even like most of the TV that’s constantly on, but still feel like I need to be entertained.

But we’re getting cable anyway. Time Warner had a special that’s available pretty much everywhere- the triple play. Phone, Internet, and TV. And they don’t have a cheaper option that’s just Internet and TV, so we’re getting the phone too. We also get a free year of DVR, which was the main selling point.

So now, I can record shows I -whoa- actually want to watch. And there will be lots of them. We both can’t wait to watch The Soup, Conan, the Daily Show, and the Colbert Report. I know I’m looking forward to getting some of my favorite guilty pleasure shows back (and oh yes, there are plenty. And oh yes, there’s reason for embarrassment. The Secret Life of the American Teenager, Make it or Break it, Toddlers and Tiaras….yeah. At least I can still say that I’ve ever watched Jersey Shore.) Now I can record all of these shows and watch them at my own discretion! And I won’t have to sit through 3 hours of shows I don’t really want to watch because I’m waiting for Seinfeld time! And I won’t have to worry about planning actual social activities around my TV watching.

And oddly enough, I think I’ll end up watching less TV.

*Outsourced- I watched 10 minutes of the first episode. That’s all I could handle. I wanted to like it, because it was right in the middle of my lifelong habit of watching the NBC Thursday night lineup. It’s not watchable. I thought it was offensive to Indians, Americans, and comedy. I have high standards for NBC’s “Must See TV” lineup, and this show did not meet them. I’m glad they’ve re-arranged the schedule and brought back Parks & Rec at least.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You cannot fight the television

  1. Seashell says:

    We watch less TV because of the DVR. It does work because you don’t flip through channels waiting for the show you want to watch. Just being able to fast forward through the commercials saves lots of time! The only thing we watch live anymore is football. You’ll love it Kristin!

  2. Pingback: Updates on things | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

