Out with the old, in with the new

I’m sure you’ll all be excited to hear that we didn’t really do anything for New Year’s Eve. We were on the list for the UCB party, but then it got relocated to Brooklyn. That means at least an hour ride home on the subway (on a normal night), but I didn’t really want to deal with the Times Square crowds on the trains on the way back. So we stayed in. We bought a hanger steak from the butcher’s shop and had that and caesar salads. And red wine. And a bottle of champagne. It was nice and relaxing. Even though we had spent the last 9 days together, we hadn’t really had much time alone.

The drive back was fine- about 13 hours. Kris drove the whole way. The roads were fine until we got into Astoria. The snowstorm left huge piles of dirty snow all over the edges of the roads. It’s a mess. The sidewalks are cleared off, but it’s kind of hard to take Tinker to the park now.  I’m just glad we’re home.

We spent all day today cleaning and organizing our apartment, and it looks a million times better. We still have a little bit to finish up tomorrow, but I feel good about it. We have a few bags to donate to Goodwill, and some things to sell on Craigslist (anyone want a 20″ tube TV AND a DVD player? We got an awesome big flat panel for Christmas, and it gets here on Tuesday.)

It seems like I have the same resolution every year- pay off credit card debt. I did accomplish that in 2010 (in January), but then I got it back up to where it was four years ago during the move/3 week gap in employment. (So, anyone reading this thinking about moving here- seriously, calculate how much you think you’ll need, then triple it. That might be enough. Maybe.). I’m still shooting for paying off my new debt (and feasibly could), but I have a few others:

1. Pay off credit card debt
2. Get to Basic level (one above where I am now) in ballet
3. Drink more wine and less tea (working on that one right this very moment)
4. Write more (blogging and otherwise)
5. Develop a better sense of style/better wardrobe. Not necessarily go out and buy a ton (which would not work well with #1), but try to be more stylish
6. Make some new friends in New York, outside of work and my college friend circle

And just for fun…

Back in the early days of social media, before myspace, facebook and twitter, there was this great thing called Livejournal. You may have seen it on The Social Network. I started using it in 2001, and kept it up until I started this blog. It was more for personal journaling that you could share with your friends. Every year, I filled out a New Year’s survey. Since I’m not using LJ anymore, I thought I’d move that survey over here for this year.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?
– Moved across the country- on my own
– Quit a perfectly good job without another lined up
– Took a class at NYU

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Yes (every single one!) and Yes (see above)

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Ugh, like half of my Facebook friends list. Okay, not that much. But several people who I used to be close to  or are close to people I know gave birth

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Not that I can think of..

5. What countries did you visit?
None, but New York feels like a different country sometimes

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
More closet space

7. What date(s) from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
May 3- The day I moved here. I think that it should be fairly obvious why.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Actually following through with my plan to move to New York, find an apartment, and get a job.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not saving up as much money for moving as I would have liked

10. Did you suffer any illness or injury?
Only about 5 colds…

11. What was the best thing you bought?
The groupon for the ballet classes

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Not to sound too arrogant, but I’m pretty proud of myself this year. I accomplished some major life goals that I never thought were possible.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
No one in particular this year

14. Where did most of your money go?
My landlord/broker, PODS, Chase credit card

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Well I think that should be obvious, but moving to New York (and the adventures I’ve had here). Also, the other traveling I’ve done this year- Memphis, Las Vegas, and Indiana (after moving)

16. What song[s] will always remind you of 2010?
Ugh, I don’t follow music anymore at all. I’m watching SNL right now and the second Shy Ronnie video is on, so I’ll go with that.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? happier
ii. thinner or fatter? Thinner! (the first time I’ve put that here in 3 years! Id like to thank Ballet and my sugar detox)
iii. richer or poorer? About the same, but on track to be richer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Drinking wine

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Facebook/Twitter

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
With Andy, my family, and his family. 🙂

22. Did you fall in love in 2010?
NYC. 🙂

23. How many one-night stands?
None!

24. What was your favorite TV program?
Glee, Mad Men, Community, 30 Rock

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Nope

26. What was the best book you read?
Little Women- Louisa May Alcott
Squirrel Seeks Chipmonk: A Modest Bestiary- David Sedaris

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
N/A

28. What did you want and get?
A big TV, to move to New York

29. What did you want and not get?
I want for nothing

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Toy Story 3, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, The Social Network, The Black Swan

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
It was my first day at my job. After work, Andy took me out for sushi, then we walked up to Rockefellar Center and got Magnolia cupcakes, then went home and he had gotten me flowers 🙂

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
A walk-in closet

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
Oh cool, leggings are acceptable as pants now.

34. What kept you sane?
Tinker. my blackberry. Andy.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Tina Fey? I don’t know.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Bedbugs

37. Who did you miss?
Andy (first half of the year), Sarah (after I moved) my family (all year)

38. Who was the best new person you met?
Too many to count! I really like a lot of my co-workers

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010:
Times Square is irritating.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
Start spreading the news
I’m leaving today
I want to be a part of it- New York, New York….

 

This entry was posted in The Settlers Give it Passion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out with the old, in with the new

  1. Stephanie says:

    Wow, what a flashback to mention that survey on LJ. I can’t believe you stuck with it for so long. I think I did one of those surveys but I know for sure I read a bunch of them. I’m glad everything is going really well for you! Good luck with your resolutions!

Leave a Reply

