Day 3: The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy

Today was a little more challenging. It started out fine. I had a banana and ONE (really!) cup of tea (only one cup because I was on a conference call and couldn’t get up to refill my tea). Around 11, I had a snack kit from the fridge at work, which had carrots and celery to dip in hummus. For lunch, I had the salad and sweet potatoes I made last night. That was all good.

Then I realized I was out of snacks, and I had 4 hours left at work, then a 2 hour break, then ballet….with the commutes, it would mean another 9+ hours before I’d go home to my fridge full of healthy food.

So I alternated tea and water. Had to go to the bathroom a LOT. I managed to find half a snack box of cut up mango (I think- I had no idea what it was, but it was good) in the work fridge, so I ate that. Yesterday I brought in some Bath and Body Works hand lotion in the “Warm Vanilla Sugar” scent, and I don’t know how many times I re-applied it to my hands and smelled them.

After work, I decided to see what kind of to-go meals/snacks the Union Square Whole Foods had to offer. After spending 5 minutes pushing through the after-work crowds, I decided the line was WAYYY too long (would have been at least a half hour), so I decided to abort THAT plan.

I got on the train and headed to the Upper East Side, where my ballet class is. I stopped at a Gristedes hoping to find something in the deli area with cut up cheese chunks and fruit. No dice. (Although I did eat two cheese chunk samples…). I could have bought a bag of swiss cheese chunks, but it was $8.99 and I wouldn’t have been able to refrigerate it.

Next, I tried Duane Reade. The bigger stores usually have a nice section with yogurts, sandwiches, and other healthy lunch/snack options. This store didn’t. Next.

I was running out of time at this point, so I headed over to the Starbucks across the street from my ballet school. After examining all of the food options in the refrigerated display, I settled on one that had small chicken chunks, tomatoes, carrots, celery, flatbread and -of course- hummus. I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat the flatbread, but there was enough else to eat. I saw a bunch of bananas at the front counter, so I grabbed one of those too. As I was paying (around $5.50 total), the friendly cashier slowly placed a candy cane on top of the rest of my food. I thanked him, but told him I couldn’t have it since I’m on a sugar detox. Sympathetic look from cashier.

I went to my ballet school, changed into my clothes, and ate my dinner:

Then I had my class. This was my first Wednesday class in about a month, and it was my first ever with a male teacher. It was TOTALLY different from my Sunday class (at the same level)! We spent almost the ENTIRE hour and a half at the barre- except for the ten minutes spent lying on our backs with out butts against the mirror/wall, with legs spread. We had to clench our butts and then try to push our legs further and further apart. Then we spent a good 10 minutes with legs up on the barre doing some really challenging stretches.

I kept alternating between feeling extremely frustrated and really good. If I had started with this class two months ago, I probably wouldn’t have gone back to it. I’m definitely going to be VERY sore tomorrow. But what I liked about it was that we focused on different things than my other class, and some of them are things I really needed to work on. This teacher definitely pushes his students, but in a good way. I’m still holding on to a tiny inkling of hope that someday I’ll dance on pointe (which is EXTREMELY unlikely for someone coming into this at 26, no matter how much I train). I feel like if I want to have any shot at it, I’ll need to A) Start going more than once a week and B) Take it with different teachers (especially those that challenge me).

Now I’m going to eat some yogurt and fruit, then have a hot date with some ibuprofen and a heating pad.

This entry was posted in The Settlers Give it Passion, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 3: The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy

  1. Pingback: Updates on things | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

