Sugar Detox: Day 2

Still on the wagon! The minty cucumber salad I made last night was delicious. Today, I had a cup* of Earl Grey tea in the morning, some grapes and turkey and swiss cheese for breakfast (at work we have some sort of spread for breakfast every day. It usually involves cinnamon rolls and pastries, but at least once a week it’s lunch meats, cheeses, and fruits).  For lunch, I had the salad and some greek yogurt with fruit.  For a snack, I had apple slices and some cubes of cheddar cheese. For dinner, I had another omelet with spinach, mushrooms, and cheese, and a slice of bacon.

After dinner (and Glee!), I decided to try to make sweet potato chips. Since writing the steps would get boring, I’ll just show you pictures. The seasoning I put on them is pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice). I only ended up making chips out of one of the potatoes. They’re yummy, so I may make more tomorrow:

I put half in a container to be part of my lunch tomorrow, and ate the other half tonight. I’m going to have to play around with different seasonings/oils, but I think this snack has some potential! It was really easy to make, and made my kitchen smell good enough that Andy came in to see what I was making.

While the chips were baking, I put together a salad for lunch tomorrow (spinach, tomato, cucumber, feta cheese). I cut a cooked chicken breast in half, then cut each half into smaller chunks and put them in tiny ikea plastic containers. Now I have chicken for two salads, ready to go! I also put some yogurt-based caesar dressing in a small container, and packed it all up in my lunch bag so I can just grab it in the morning. YUM!

I’m actually really enjoying preparing my lunch the night before. It makes me look forward to lunch, and it’s nice to know I’m not going to be spending $10 on an unsatisfying, unhealthy meal.

I haven’t been to a Wednesday ballet class in a few weeks (I didn’t go when I was sick, and then my Groupon ran out, so I’ve just been going to my Sunday class). When I did go on Wednesdays, it was the intro (1st level) class. I’m ready to do basic beginner (2nd level) more than once a week, because I really want to get better at it.  I’m planning on going tomorrow. It’ll be with a different teacher, but I think that’ll be okay.

*3 cups

This entry was posted in The Settlers Give it Passion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sugar Detox: Day 2

  1. estelle says:

    Wow! I’m totally impressed. Do you feel like your weekly grocery bills are going up a bit? Or that it’s evening out since you are not spending 10 dollars on lunch each day? Hope you made it to ballet class! 🙂

  2. Kristin says:

    Thanks! Actually, it hasn’t been all that expensive. When I went to the grocery store Monday night, I spent about $20. I still have enough spinach/tomatoes/cucumber left for a few more salads. I also still have plenty of bacon, another sweet potato, and some blueberries. It’s helped that I can get bananas and other snacks at work. It would probably get expensive if I were getting more ambitious with my meals, but I’ve kept it pretty simple.

    I did make it to ballet class! I’m about to write a post about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

