Whatever you say, it’s all fine by me. Who the (f) anyway wants a Christmas tree?

When I was packing up my stuff in Indy for my move to New York, I left all of my Christmas decorations in a box at my dad’s house. There wasn’t all that much- just a cheap 3-ft pre-lit tree from Target, some ornaments I’ve acquired the past few years (well, and a few of my favorites from when I was a kid, like my little Kangaroo), and maybe a few strands of lights.  I wasn’t sure how much space I’d have in my NYC apartment for decorations year-round.

We don’t really have any extra storage space at all. In fact, we barely have enough storage space for the things that we need in our apartment the rest of the year. But that didn’t stop us from getting another 3-ft tree from Target (this one packs up a little better though, and we’ll be able to stuff it under the bed after the holidays).

So Sunday night we put up our little tree on our TV stand next to our TV. It just has lights and little red ball ornaments. We’ll probably try to find some ornaments to commemorate our first Christmas living together in New York, and just try to accumulate more over the years. We also put up some lights around our windows. It’s not very fancy, but I like it.

After all, it’s not like we’re not going to see other, better Christmas decorations this year. Tomorrow night is the Rockefeller Tree lighting, and we’re planning on going. (For real this time- we’re not going to flake out like we did for the Rally to Restore Sanity and the Macys Thanksgiving parade).  We’re also going to try to go to Macys to see the decorations/ Santa. I was listening to Christmas music on my way into work, and the song “Silver Bells” came on, and it definitely felt like it had more meaning this year.

I can’t believe we leave for Christmas vacation in 3 1/2 weeks! I guess I should start my Christmas shopping. It’s most likely going to involve cheap NY souvenirs. I’m going to try to do most of my shopping at the Union Square Holiday Market (mostly local artists and vendors, and they all have really awesome stuff.) I’m accepting requests. Anyone want a $5 pashmina?

This entry was posted in The Settlers Give it Passion, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whatever you say, it’s all fine by me. Who the (f) anyway wants a Christmas tree?

  1. Marianne says:

    Kangaroo… As in “Dot and the Kangaroo”. I remember finding it… I think at Union Station in St. Louis. I was so excited to find a Kangaroo ornament for you that year. Happy that it still has meaning to you. Those were very good times, Christmases, and happy memories. Warms the heart, even on this very cold evening here. XO Mom

Leave a Reply

