I’m gonna give you some terrible thrills

It shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone that I watch Glee. I have a weird obsession with shows about high school. Even though I still don’t understand show choir in the Midwest (for my Texas friends reading this- from my understanding, show choir in the Midwest is pretty much exactly as portrayed on Glee), I can relate to Glee from being in theatre, and by consistently reaching levels of dorky that should really be illegal.

I used to go to the midnight showings of Rocky Horror (both in Louisville and Fort Worth) my junior and senior years of high school. I didn’t get quite as crazy as most of the people there, but there were a few times where I wore pajamas, tap shoes, and Mickey Mouse ears to dress like Columbia. Back then, I wore clothes from Hot Topic (when it was a new store for the weird kids and most of the other people were wearing Abercrombie). I had a ton of Emily shirts, and I mostly wore those and Weezer shirts. Every day. I don’t think people would guess that about me now. Now I’m all cardigans, leggings and skirts from the Gap.

I love that RHPS has spanned so many generations. My mom took my brother and I to some of the midnight showings when I was in high school, and she said that she had gone to them when she was younger.  RHPS is a big part of one of my all-time favorite books, The Perks of Being a Wallflower (if you haven’t read this, go get it. RIGHT NOW. Just thinking about it makes me want to read it again, and I’ve probably read it more than 20 times. It got me through my junior year of high school.)

Anyway, so this week’s episode of Glee was Rocky Horror Picture Show themed. Overall, I think they didn’t do a terrible job of introducing the show to the next generation, but some of the edits were really weird, especially with the lyrics to “Toucha Toucha Touch me” and “Sweet Transvestite” (sensational Transylvania? Really?) I’m sure the teenagers watching it were totally confused about what RHPS is (and to be fair, anyone who’s seen it can easily leave the theatre totally confused about the plot..) I think Mercedes was an interesting choice as Frankenfurter, but I would have loved to see Sue Sylvester in the part. Brittany and Santana KILLED IT as Columbia and Magenta (as expected), and Kurt was a perfect Riffraff. The whole plot line with Finn having a bad body image didn’t make any sense at all, and him wearing boxers instead of tighty whities was total crap (and it’s not creepy when I say this because he’s 28, not 16…). John Stamos as Eddie was great, and the new kid was probably cast on Glee specifically to play Rocky. All good stuff. I would have liked to see “Don’t Dream it, Be It” instead of “There’s a light,” but it’s okay. I liked that they had Barry Bostwick and Meatloaf make an appearance, but I felt like they could have used some Tim Curry. Really, every musical could use some Tim Curry.

While I’m going to enjoy having the songs stuck in my head all week (only, with the audience callouts from the movie, because those might be permanently tattooed on my brain), my favorite part of this episode was at the end when Mr. Schuster was talking about how RHPS’s popularity isn’t about shock value so much as creating a home for the weird kids. Because it totally is. That’s what it was for me, and I’d imagine for a lot of my friends as well.

Normally, RHPS plays just about everywhere around Halloween, and I really would love to go see it again. I’m sure it’s playing here this weekend, but I have plans: Andy and I are going on the Huffington Post Bus to Washington DC for the “Rally to Restore Sanity!” Expect a post on that early next week!

(Sorry if this post was incoherent and rambly- I’m sick, and I just took my nighttime cold medicine..)

This entry was posted in The Settlers Give it Passion, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m gonna give you some terrible thrills

  1. Stephanie says:

    I thought the kids looked spot on with the makeup. The same thought crossed my mind about the casting of the new kid. He’s insanely similar looking to Rocky. At first I thought he was the myspace winner, but I don’t think he is. I have noticed though that he’s half-nekked in every single episode so far!

    • Kristin says:

      Yeah, I’m not sure if he has staying power yet. And his duet with Quinn a few weeks ago was stupid- Santana and Mercedes should have won. Also, I miss Puck.

  2. Cristella says:

    Sorry you’re sick Kristin! (I just got over a 5 day bout of something or other. So glad to feel normal again.)

    I need to go watch this ep online. I haven’t been keeping up with Glee like I should. I accidentally missed like a huge chunk of last season b/c Neflix messed up my system. I think Sue Sylvester would have made an awesome Frankenfurter as well.

    You know, I don’t think I had any knowledge of Rocky Horror until I was in college. I remember in my early days at Ball State, we used to watch it on VH1. I think I went to a Rocky Horror showing at Pruis, which was much better than watching the movie without it. God, I’m feeling nostalgic.

    Feel better and have a great trip this weekend!

    • Kristin says:

      Thanks, I am starting to feel better! I think cold medicine actually makes me feel worse, so I’m trying not to take any tonight.

      Def. watch this episode- it’s interesting. Not a dead-on production of RHPS, but a nice interpretation appropriate for TV/the audience of the show.

      I went to it once at Pruis- I think my sophomore year. It’s way more fun to see it with the actors/a live audience.

      We’re a little on the fence about the trip now. We have to be at Citi field (a 45 minute commute by train probably with them not running as often that time of day) at 5:30 a.m., and will be gone all day. I know it’ll be fun and cool, but just thinking about it is exhausting.

  3. Marianne says:

    Yes, Every musical could use some Tim Curry! The casting of Frankenfurtor on Glee left me disappointed (not her fault). But then, no one could live up to Tim Curry…well maybe “Poppycock” but that’s another show. The rest of the cast did a great job! This brought back many, many memories! Let’s do the Time Warp…again!

  4. Pingback: Dear Hollywood: Please don’t ruin my favorite YA books (vol. 1) | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

