And….. it clicks.

I had my fourth ballet class tonight. I’ve been going to the “Basic Beginner” (2nd level) classes on Sundays, and the “Intro” (1st level) classes on Wednesdays. Up until tonight, I’ve felt a little frustrated with it. I’ve enjoyed the classes a lot, but they’re nothing like the classes I took as a kid.

The thing is, we hardly do any…. dancing. It’s all focusing on technique and positioning. I’m sure as I get further into it there will be more choreography involved. I’m glad that I’m finally learning technique. My teachers are awesome. They translate all of the terminology (it’s in French) and  say how it’s spelled, which has oddly helped me understand it better.

I’ve found that I’m more focused when I’m in ballet class than any other time of day, and it’s really important to me that I become good at this. It’s the perfect outlet for my perfectionist/controlling nature.

After feeling awkward the first few classes, tonight everything just clicked. I understood it all and made a point to look in the mirror and make sure I had the absolute correct positioning the entire class (which is harder than it sounds). I’m not nearly as flexible as I used to be, but I’m improving each week. I’m trying to figure out how to keep it going after my 10 classes are up, because it’ll become a $40/week habit at that point if I go twice a week. ($16 for each class, and then $4 for the Jamba Juice smoothies I get on the way home).

Last week I was really sore (pretty much the entire week), but now it’s just for the day after each class. My left ankle has been popping a lot, but I don’t think it’s injured. I think I just need to get used to exercising, since I haven’t really ever done that.

Anyway, tonight I have an overwhelming sense of clarity and contentment. I had felt like I was just going through the motions (of my life) for a few months, but now I really feel like I have things that matter to me on a level other than survival. It feels good.

 

This entry was posted in The Settlers Give it Passion, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And….. it clicks.

  1. Stephanie says:

    I’m happy that you’ve finally found a sense of clarity and contentment through ballet. 🙂 I actually remember you talking about pointe and ballet in Jr High.

  2. Kristin says:

    Aw, thanks! 🙂 I’ve been obsessed with it for a really long time.

Leave a Reply

