Who says you can’t go home?

This past weekend we went to Indiana for Jarrod and Amanda’s wedding. Andy and Jarrod have been friends since Andy started his undergrad. I met Jarrod and Amanda a little more than three years ago. When Andy moved back to Muncie after spending the summer interning in Memphis, Jarrod and Amanda suggested he invite me over to their house to play scrabble, which turned into many, many future board game nights, dinners at Domo, and a whole new group of friends. The night Andy and I decided we were officially a couple was the night we all went out for Amanda’s birthday. They played a huge role in the beginning of our relationship, and I’m really grateful for that. I’m really happy for them, and I know they’re going to have a great marriage.

(Note to Jarrod and Amanda if you read this: Pretend that was the message I left you on your video tribute at the wedding, because my actual message is probably a little incoherent.)

So their wedding was on Saturday, and it was lovely. They had an interfaith ceremony at a Universal Unitarian church. The ceremony included rituals and traditions from a lot of different cultures and religions, and it was really interesting. They had a pretty brown and green apple color scheme, and all of our Muncie friends were there.

Toward the beginning of the ceremony, the Reverend (I think… I’m not quite sure what his title is) said that a relationship cannot sustain itself on love alone, and that it needs to be nurtured by loving friends and family. It made me really miss all the people we left behind in Indiana. I hadn’t spent much time in Muncie with these friends in the past year (since Andy was in Memphis from January until we moved here), and I’d almost forgotten how great they are. Throughout the weekend, I got to spend a little time with almost everyone in that circle, and it was really nice. I miss them a lot. I really wish there was some way to combine our life in New York with the people in our life back there.

We stayed at Andy’s mom’s house, and it was really nice seeing his family. I like them a lot. We didn’t get to spend as much time with them as we wanted since we had to do wedding stuff all weekend, but we’ll be back at Christmas.

On Sunday, we went to Indy to have lunch with Sarah, my sister Laura, and Andy’s friend Danny and his new girlfriend Stephanie. It was really great catching up with everyone. I miss living with Sarah. We stopped by her apartment, and I got to see Cosmo (my former cat who Sarah adopted when I moved). Everyone we saw seems to be really happy right now, and I’m really glad for that.

We also managed to squeeze in meals at Yats, Domo, and Bazbeaux, three of my favorite restaurants in Indiana. 🙂 And I got to drink two Upland Wheat beers (my favorite, but it’s from a microbrewery in Bloomington and unavailable in New York) at the wedding!

I drove a car for the first time in 5 months- wearing four inch heels- and I didn’t wreck it! I also had a major case of real estate envy. My friends have some pretty sweet houses and apartments. It made me feel a little bummed that my apartment looks the way it does (and since most of you haven’t seen it- let’s just say it’s crammed, unorganized, and we have too much stuff in it). We have an Ikea trip planned in a few weeks, and I’m hoping we can find some better solutions to organize everything. I really want our apartment to not feel like a college student’s apartment.  I think it’ll be a fun project, but I just don’t know where to begin. We’re planning on staying at this apartment at least another year after our lease is up in June, so we’ll need to figure out something. We’ll make it home.

This entry was posted in The Settlers Give it Passion, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

