Just dance… gonna be okay!

I forgot to factor something in on my recent plan to refrain from spending money until I get my paycheck (2 weeks from tomorrow!): The Perfect Groupon.

If you’ve never heard of it, Groupon is a cool discount e-mail program. You can sign up for it in your city, and you’ll receive daily e-mails with a special discount for a local business in your area. It’s usually a restaurant, hair salon, or yoga studio (that’s where I got my yoga classes in January and February…). I get two a day- one for Queens and one for Manhattan.They have a set number that need to be sold for the deal to “tip,” and once it does, then everyone who committed to buying it gets the discount.

On Saturday morning, I checked my email and discovered that the Manhattan Groupon was something that I’ve been wanting for a very long time.

Ten adult ballet classes for $59.

At this particular school, ten classes would be $150. The catch for this Groupon is, once you’ve attended your first class, you have 5 weeks to complete the other 9. I’m going to start at the beginning of October! πŸ™‚ They also offer tap, jazz, pilates, and yoga. I like all of those, but I’ve regretted quitting ballet since precisely one year after I quit- right around the time Center Stage came out.

At the time, I wanted to focus on orchestra more. I was on the school dance team my freshman year of high school, and completely burnt out on dancing. Between practices (7-9 a week, at 2-3 hours each), football games, pep rallies, and competitions, it was just too much for me. Before that, I danced at a studio, which amounted to about 3 hours a week- one tap, one jazz, and one ballet. Ballet was always my favorite. I really wish I had started it younger and stuck with it longer. I always wanted to do pointe, and really regret that I never got to. I still want to, and I’m going to try to make it happen if I’m not considered too old to start by the time I have enough training for it (which could take several years…)

I danced for 6 years, if you include this one:

(That’s me when I was 4, about to do a cute tap dance called “The Bunny Rabbit Blues.” I have it on VHS and need to transfer it to a computer someday, because it’s adorable)

So, in October I’m going back to ballet, and I couldn’t be more thrilled. I can’t wait to go buy ballet shoes, tights, and a leotard. I could probably get them cheaper online, but I love how dance supply stores smell. I hope I like the classes, because I really would like to keep going long-term. I’ve accepted the fact that I’m not ever going to join a gym, and this is the one form of exercise I know I enjoy. I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep up with going twice a week, but I think it’ll be great just to dance again. They even have special levels of classes for people who used to dance but haven’t in a long time, so I won’t have to take a class with people who are dancing as a living an actually good at it.

I moved to New York so that I could have the life I’ve always wanted, and I’m really excited about the possibility that this can include dancing. I’m ready for it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just dance… gonna be okay!

  1. Marianne says:

    I Love It that you are going to dance again. I would also love a copy of that picture. It all goes back to the “tiny trio” dress that was your favorite when you were three and remember that yellow “ballet” bag that you had to get with that dress. Fun times! Just Dance.

  2. Pingback: The One Where I’ve lived in NYC for a Year | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

