Tumble out of bed and stumble to the kitchen…

I think a week in Las Vegas might have been too much. Normally when I go there, it’s for about four days, and I manage to stay on Eastern Standard Time- I just got up really early when I was there.

That hasn’t been the case this time.

Even though I’ve been back more than a week now, I think my body’s still on Mountain time. I haven’t been able to fall asleep before 2 a.m. since I got back. I thought it might catch up with me by now since I started my job on Monday and have been getting up at 7, but it hasn’t yet. It might also have to do with the fact that this is my first week of being on an actual schedule after having three weeks off. This doesn’t work for me. I am a person who needs structure. I’m glad things are getting back to normal.

So, the new job is good. I like the people and company so far. I received the best birthday gift I didn’t think even existed- CORPORATE GMAIL!!!! I have been wishing it existed for at least 3 years, and I found out it DOES! And my company uses it! I still have a TON to learn about my actual job, and don’t feel like there’s a lot I can contribute until I learn it. Yesterday someone had an ExactTarget list question, and I was able to help him, and that felt good. I had almost forgotten what it felt like to feel needed and useful at work, because I didn’t feel that way at my temp job. Turns out, it’s another thing I need.

In case anyone missed it, Monday was my birthday. Because my birthday is the third week of August, it has  always been at the very beginning of the school year, and many times, the first day. As a result, people I’m just meeting for the first time don’t usually know about it. (So, any potential parents who think they want to conceive a child around Christmastime- think about it.) So, I’m pretty used to only hearing birthday wishes from family and close friends. Facebook at least lets people know, and plenty of people gave me birthday wishes there (as is the custom…). I had a few calls and texts too, but this was probably the only year EVER where only one person wished me happy birthday in person. Luckily, Andy did a great job at giving me a nice birthday- we went out to a sushi restaurant (naturally) near my work, and then for a walk to Rockefellar center to get Magnolia cupcakes. When we got home, I had a lovely bouquet of flowers. It was really nice.

I don’t regret moving here at all; I just miss having friends around. And since I’ve started in a stable job, I feel like I can really start to build my life here. I’m going to make more of an effort to make friends, because that is the aspect of my old life that I miss the most. At my job, there are only FIVE women (including me), and lots of guys. The girls all planned a night out on Tuesday to go out to dinner and then see Eat Pray Love, and I’m looking forward to getting to know some new people.

Speaking of human interaction- my friend Lauren is coming to visit the first week of September! I’m excited to see her and show her the city. I may even let her do a guest blog post about her trip (Lauren, are you into that? You can just post your awesome pictures if you want!) We haven’t really had any guests in our apartment at all (seriously- Kris came over once to drop off the Yankee tickets, but the apt was still full of boxes- but that’s it for visitors). It’ll be nice to have someone else here.

So, I definitely have things to look forward to in the next few weeks. There is one downside. I’m on super hyper extreme budget lockdown until I get my first paycheck on the 15th. Not working for 3 weeks + having a comma in rent + a weeklong Vegas Vacation= Ramen noodles and credit cards.  I’ll survive though. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tumble out of bed and stumble to the kitchen…

  1. Lauren says:

    Of course I will guest photo-blog! Sounds like fun to me! Can’t wait!

  2. Stephanie says:

    For some reason your birthday became engraved in my mind over the years. I think you had this obsession with 23 back in the day. 🙂

    p.s. I like it when you post pics!

  3. Kristin says:

    Lauren- Yay! 🙂

    Steph- Aw! I sure did have an obsession with 23.
    I’m glad you like the pics! I’m trying to take them more often.

  4. Pingback: How to Succeed in Getting 9 interviews in 4 days (without really trying) | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

