Luck is when opportunity meets preparation.

Good news folks. I GOT THE JOB I WANTED!! That’s right. You’re reading the blog of the new Customer Advocate and Online Sales Associate for KickApps.

So what does that mean, exactly?

KickApps offers social media platforms- for your own website. Like, if you or your company has a website and want to have a message board on it, KickApps can help you make that happen. I’ll be the face of a lot of their customer service. Customers will talk to me on the company’s message boards, through e-mail, live chats, and other ways, and I’ll answer their questions and help them find solutions to what they want to accomplish. I’ll also be working on e-mail marketing through ExactTarget, which I have missed since leaving OneAmerica. I’m really excited about it!

The company seems great, and the people I interviewed with are very nice. They all seem to love their jobs, and that’s an environment I’m excited to be in! Speaking of the environment there –  it’s nice. Casual clothing (so, FINALLY, my lifelong dream of wearing jeans to work has come true!), laid-back atmosphere, open setting (yay! no cubicles!). I’m even getting stock options!

I’ll start the Monday after I get back from Vegas, which means August 23rd. My 26th birthday. I like to think of it as a little birthday gift from the universe, because it almost feels like this opportunity has just fallen into my lap. That seems to happen to me a lot with jobs. But as I was going through my interviews today, and showing my work from all of my previous jobs, it became clear that all of them have been leading up to this position. I have done a lot with social media, Web, and e-mail marketing throughout my career. And I really like it.

I’d like to give a shout-out to the person who helped make that happen. I’ve been working with Daren Mongello at JPatrick & Associates, a recruiting firm. Daren’s been awesome- he helped me prepare for interviews and provided useful information about the company. If you or anyone you know is looking for any kind of tech/IT type job, please let me know and I’ll put you in touch with him (or just go to the website). The whole process from hearing about the job to getting an offer was three business days, which was awesome.

So, good things happening all around!  I might not post anything else on here until I get back from my trip on the 18th, because I’m not bringing my computer.

But you better believe there will be pictures on the next post! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Luck is when opportunity meets preparation.

  1. Grant Cerny says:

    Congrats to you, Kristin. The team here at KickApps is excited that you’ll be one of us. Enjoy your vacation, and get ready for a lot of fun doing good work & accomplishing great things!

  2. Mike says:

    Welcome aboard Kristin!

  3. Marianne says:

    Success- When a very skilled employee meets a fantastic opportunity. Kristin, you regularily send out good things into the universe, so it’s no surprise that it comes back to you. You have a lot to offer to any employer. I hope they know how much you will enrich their company. I think your new employer has an exciting concept…if you have stock options…might be a good idea. I think your new employer is destined for great success.

  4. K-

    Way to impress!!! I wish you well on your journey over at KickApps. You will be a great addition to an already great team.

    Regards
    Daren J. Mongello
    dmongello@jpatrick. com

  5. Pingback: The One Where I’ve lived in NYC for a Year | The Settlers Give it Passion

  6. Pingback: Professional Limbo | The Settlers Give it Passion

  7. Pingback: How to Succeed in Getting 9 interviews in 4 days (without really trying) | The Settlers Give it Passion

  8. Pingback: In which I get a new job for my birthday. Again. | The Settlers Give it Passion

Leave a Reply

