I recommend biting off more than you can chew to anyone. I certainly do.

My last day at my job was Friday. Now I’m on what I’m calling an “indefinite vacation.” I know that might not be the best way to think of it, since it really does need to end sooner rather than later, but it’s giving me a more positive outlook.  I’ve made a list of things I want to do during my time off. Some of it is practical (like figuring out how to invest the money from my old 401(k)- it’s sitting in an IRA right now, and I have no idea what to do with it), but a lot of it is fun- like canning jam, salsa, and marinara sauce.  And knitting a scarf. And organizing the rest of my apartment. I’m actually excited to tackle the things on my list, and I think it’ll be good. I’m going to try to keep the internet/tv time to a minimum.

I’m also going to keep applying for jobs (obviously).  I’ll definitely need to find some form of income by the end of August, but I do have a few weeks to work on it. I’m planning on spending my mornings applying for jobs and my afternoons accomplishing list items for the next week and a half until my trip to Vegas.

I’m really excited about my trip! I’m going to join some of my friends in Las Vegas for a week, so I’ll get to see them and also my mom and assorted other family members. It’ll be nice to get a break for a while and see some familiar faces (and  have a week of central air conditioning!). Tinker’s coming with me because it’s cheaper to bring him than it would be to board him in a kennel. Andy will be going to Indiana for a few days at the same time for Jarrod’s bachelor party. I know it probably seems weird that we’re doing separate vacations, but we’re both okay with it. We both need to spend time with our friends/family, so it makes sense.

So, my mom bought me an early birthday present last week- a Kindle!!! I’m so excited. It hasn’t gotten here yet, but I’ve gotten the case and screen protectors. I’m excited to start reading for fun again. I have a list of books I want to read (which will probably include a lot of free classics while I’m unemployed). I feel like I need a break from the Internet.

Hopefully the weather will cool down in the next few weeks to a point where it’s tolerable to be outside a little more, because I can already tell I’m going to adore fall here. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I recommend biting off more than you can chew to anyone. I certainly do.

  1. Marianne says:

    Ahh.. You live, you learn!

Leave a Reply

