The custom concern for the people is to build up monuments and steeples to wear out our eyes

Today I found out that my temporary job is in fact temporary. I’ve kind of had an idea that it would be for a while due to some changes at the company, but this morning I found out that my last day is next Friday. I actually wasn’t that surprised or upset when I heard.

Anyway, I’ve started applying for publishing jobs. The problem is, since I’m so new to the city and the publishing industry, I pretty much have to go back to entry-level. And that looks weird to employers, because why would someone with three years of marketing experience be applying for a marketing assistant job? Most of the jobs I’m applying for ask for salary expectations in the cover letter (and many even have them as a mandatory numerical field in some cases), and I really don’t know what to put, especially when they also ask for current salary (which is most likely higher than what I’d make at these other jobs).

I’m going to just keep chugging along. We’re doing okay financially- Andy’s been getting some freelance projects, and is starting on a huge paid writing project right now, so I’m not going to have to resort to retail or anything like that just yet. I’ll have three more paychecks, so we should be covered through August and September even.
It’s weird- Despite all of this, I still absolutely adore living here, and Andy and I are doing better than ever as a couple. It’s just been a while since I’ve had to look for work, especially since my last few jobs have kind of fallen right into my lap. It doesn’t help that I don’t seem to have as many resources as I did in Indy.
I know I definitely want to work in publishing, but I’m still not sure if I want to try to be an editor or stay in marketing. Since I’ll probably have to start from the bottom anyway, I could really do either. I’d like to work in editorial, but it’s more competitive. I think I’d enjoy marketing more if I were promoting something I love, but I still don’t really love marketing. Honestly, I just want to work in publishing. While I think I could proofread with some training (I don’t know Chicago style), I don’t think it’s what I want to do.
As I’ve been applying for publishing jobs, I’ve been looking at what books I like have been published by who, and mentioning my favorites in cover letters. I’ve read a few really good books the last few weeks (because of my publishing class), and I’m really getting excited about reading again. Now I just want to devour as many books as possible. For the last few years, I had found a few authors I liked and then just read everything they’ve written, over and over again, instead of trying to find new books to read (because it stresses me out to read a book I don’t like. I feel pressure to finish it, but just end up not reading for a while. That’s happening now with a book I bought 2 months ago..). No more. I’m reading book reviews and finding new things. I’m following the industry, and I’m going to make an effort to read books in genres I don’t normally read so I can learn as much as I can.
Also, I’m very strongly considering getting a Kindle. My bookshelf is at capacity, and brand new books are cheaper as e-books. I’m getting tired of the internet and reading the same websites every day. I’m trying to cut back on time wasted online, but I also want to make sure I fill it with something better.
I’m kind of all over the place right now. I’m just processing things and trying to figure out my next move. Part of me wants to take this time and get a decent draft of my book, or at least enough of it written that I could try to get a literary agent. My experiences with looking for work and leaving jobs are definitely giving me more to write about for the book, so maybe I should just chill and keep temping until I can just write instead.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The custom concern for the people is to build up monuments and steeples to wear out our eyes

  1. Cristella says:

    Hey Kristin! I keep meaning to send you this link: http://www.readalike.org/ra.html It’s a site put together by one of my Library instructors. It’ll be very helpful in learning about popular genres.

    I am very much like you in that I tend to read the authors I like and usually in the literary fiction genre (if you could call it that). The class I took with this instructor (Readers Advisory) opened up a whole new world to me. There was so much more to a lot of the genres that I didn’t know about. And it added a lot to my ‘to read’ list. btw, I just finished a really good memoir called Orange Is the New Black

  2. Kristin says:

    Thanks! That website will be helpful.

    That book looks interesting! I’ll have to check it out. Have you read the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series? I’ve been told I need to read it, but I’m not big on crime stories…

    • Cristella says:

      (Why does this thing not alert me when someone replies? I checked the box. Weird.)

      Anyway, yes I have read the whole series. The books are good, but are long and detailed. I wonder if many editors criticize this because some things could have been left out. It is translated from Swedish so maybe that has something to do with it.

      If you’re not into crime novels, I don’t know if you’d like it. If there’s one genre I most read outside of literary, it’s probably mystery, so I did like these. They are a bit brutal. My coworker told me the other day that she found the first book hard to read because of this but she is excited to read the other two. I forgot, but yes, there is a lot of violence. Lots of references to Swedish towns and politics (which are well explained).

      I did see the Swedish language film (they are making the series into films here) and did not like it. Maybe it was because I had to read the subtitles that it felt like a paint-by-numbers version of the book. One particular scene was harder to watch than to read.

      I wouldn’t say it’s scary but one of the main characters, Lisbeth, has had a really tough life, and you get frustrated with some of the ways she handles things. But she’s a great character.

      Now that I’ve gone on forever, here’s another site that you probably don’t want to waste time on: My profile on goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/123964-cristella

      Let me know if you join!

  3. Kristin says:

    I’m still thinking about it. I’ve heard Dragon Tattoo is really boring for the first half, and then really awesome for the rest. I’m reading Orange Is the New Black because of your recommendation, and I really like it! I’ll let you know when I get set up on goodreads!

Leave a Reply

