‘Cause I’ve got one hand in my pocket, and the other one is hailing a taxi cab…

Up until yesterday, I hadn’t been in a car since Memorial day weekend. I’ve just been walking and taking the subway. And that’s worked out pretty well for the most part. I think I’ve noticeably lost weight from the walking, and I’ve had more time to read on the subway.
When I first got here, I loved the subway. I’ve always hated driving, and now that my car has finally been sold, (thanks Dad!) I don’t have all the extra expenses of having a car. An unlimited metrocard (for buses and subways) for one month is $89. Not too shabby, considering I was playing close to $500 a month for a car payment, insurance, gas, and other car maintenance.
Recently, there have been some budget cuts to the subways. They eliminated a few of the lines that seemed redundant, and one of those was the W, which went to my neighborhood. My subway stop is the last one on that line, and now I have the option of taking the N or the Q (before it was the N or the W, so it didn’t appear that anything would really change at first).
Only, instead of taking the N directly from my class that’s right by City Hall, which is the stop by my class on Tuesdays (about 45 minutes away from home) to my stop, I now have to take the R up to 14th street, and then transfer to the N or Q. It takes me FOREVER to get home on Tuesday nights because of this. Like, my class gets out at 8:45, and sometimes I don’t get home until close to 10:30.  Last week there were a ton of random, inexplicable delays, and there have been a lot of those lately. Ridiculous. At least it’s a good way to catch up on podcasts and reading.
All the lines that I take on any normal day (N & Q usually, and R on Tuesdays) stop right by my work. Yesterday, I worked until 5:45 (which I normally don’t do on Tuesdays  since class starts at 6:45). I hopped on the R, and after riding for 35 minutes, 2 stops before City Hall, they announced that this train was becoming an Express instead of local (meaning it skips lots of stops), and that after the next stop, it would be going straight to Brooklyn.
Ugh.
I got out at the next stop, and waited for the next R train. After two Ns and a Q went by (they veer off toward Brooklyn at this stop, so I couldn’t take them), I realized that R trains normally don’t go through that stop, and I had been waiting in the wrong area. By then, it was 6:30, so I just decided to get out and walk, since it couldn’t have been that far.
I found myself in Chinatown. I had never been there, and was totally disoriented. I couldn’t see any recognizable buildings (in any direction). I tried using the GPS on my phone, which indicated it would take 12 minutes to walk. I went the way I thought I was supposed to go for a few blocks, recalculated the GPA, and then it said 17 minutes. Since it was 6:38 by then, and my class started at 6:45, I decided to check something off my New York checklist:

I hailed my first cab! On the first try!

Eight minutes and $7.00 later, I arrived at my class. Totally worth it. I had definitely been walking in the wrong direction. I’m probably not going to make a habit of taking cabs because they can get expensive, but it’s nice having them as an option. Even though they’re kind of scary sometimes- walking out of work today, I saw a cab make a right turn, on a three-lane, one-way street- from the left lane. Wtf.
The weather’s cooled off a lot this week, (well, it’s rainy and humid, but not completely unbearable like last week), so I think I’m going to stick to walking and subways.
And what it all boils down to, my friends, is that everything is just fine, fine, fine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Cause I’ve got one hand in my pocket, and the other one is hailing a taxi cab…

  1. Stephanie says:

    catching up on your blog posts. This Alanis one caught my eye 😉 Did you catch her on Weeds last season?

    Congrats on your success so far! Your cab story was funny. I noticed they’re not as hard to hail as tv/movies make them out to be.

Leave a Reply

