It comes down to reality, and it’s fine with me

The past few days have been pretty eventful. Yesterday I went in to a creative “talent” (i.e., “temp”) agency to fill out paperwork, and today got a phone call about a possible job opportunity. I had a phone interview with the client, Business Week Magazine, and now I have a freelance job! I start Friday. I’ll be doing copywriting and marketing. I’m really excited about it. I think I’ll do well. There’s potential for it to turn into a long-term or even a permanent hire, so that’s promising. And the pay’s definitely enough that I won’t be stressed about money. Another awesome thing- the office is located in Rockefeller Plaza! They’re moving offices in a week, so that’ll change (I don’t know where the new one will be), but I love that I’m getting everything I wanted out of this whole venture. I didn’t expect that.

I still haven’t heard back about the other job. I emailed the editor yesterday to ask about it and haven’t heard ANYTHING. I’m just assuming I didn’t get it. It’s okay. This other job that I DID get pays more and gives me a chance to step away from insurance and move more toward writing. Since that was one of my main goals with coming here, I think it’s a good move. I still need to decide which NYU class I’m taking this summer and sign up. They start soon.

I officially signed the lease for the apartment today too! I went in and took a few pictures for Andy, and I still liked the apartment, so that’s good. I gave the management guy lots of money, but now I have until July 1st to come up with the next rent (which will be no problem at all with this new job!) Now I can just be excited and enjoy living here! Andy and Tinker will be here in a little more than three weeks, and I could not be more thrilled about starting our lives together here. It’s all coming together. I don’t think people realize that since we started dating, Andy and I have only lived in the same city about 3 weeks (compared to two and a half years of being an hour or more apart).

Since I kicked today’s butt so much, I’m really excited to have tomorrow off. Well, I know I’ve had the last two weeks off, but this time I don’t need to job hunt or apartment hunt. I’m probably just going to shop for some work clothes (because I haven’t let myself purchase very much the last few months, and now I have to step up my fashion game a lot..), but I’m excited.

I really don’t know why I didn’t try to make this happen sooner in my life. I’m happy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

