Gotta go to work, gotta go to work, gotta have a job.

I’ve been here almost a week now. I’m slowly adjusting to the differences in lifestyle. I actually kind of like walking everywhere. It’s especially nice after eating. I’m still getting used to having to carry cash everywhere and it taking a really long time to get to certain places (I went to a comedy show in Times Square Friday night, and it took me almost 2 hours to get home because a lot of the trains stop running after midnight. But I made it home without getting lost.)

I turned in my article Friday afternoon right at 5. I’ll hear back about it this week, maybe even tomorrow morning. I honestly don’t know how it’ll go. I feel like the article was written well, but I’m not sure if I got the information from my sources that they wanted me to get. I’ve been doing what I usually do when I want something but there’s a chance I might not get it- putting myself in the mindset that it’s not going to happen so it minimizes the disappointment. I’ve been applying for other jobs this weekend, and this week I’m going to spend my time writing cover letters until I find out I don’t have to anymore. I’ve scheduled an appointment with a creative temp agency, but it’s not until the week after next.

It’s kind of weird not working. As of tomorrow (Monday- I’m writing this kind of late), this will be the most time I’ve had off from work/school since the summer before my senior year of college. Four years. I took a full week off at this same time last year, but since then it’s just been long weekends. I thought I’d like the time off, and I might if I felt like I could go enjoy the city. Until I have more job prospects, I feel like any time not spent looking for a job is a waste of my time. I know that’s not a terribly healthy mindset to be in. I think tomorrow I’m going to apply for jobs all morning and then go investigate my new neighborhood in the afternoon. Which brings me to…

I found an apartment yesterday! I really like it. It’s cheaper than a lot of others in this area, and right across the street from Astoria park. The view out the window is trees in the park. It has wood floors and a decent (for NYC) sized kitchen. It’s not very far from the subway, and it’s in the older part of Astoria, so there are lots of pretty buildings all around. It’s also about a block away from the water and the amazing view of the Manhattan skyline. The only downside is that it’s a 4th floor walkup, but we’ll get used to it. I’ll carry Tinker if I have to.

I’m really excited about it, but the financial impact hit fast and hard. I had to put down a security deposit yesterday (one month’s rent), and then later this week I have to pay the first month’s rent and a $1000 broker’s fee- in cash. Amazingly they didn’t ask for proof of income; they just ran a credit check (and my credit’s amazing, despite my current financial situation). Andy’s sending me money to cover the first month’s rent (since he’ll be living there too and all), so that’s covered. I have one more paycheck coming next week, and between that and the rest of my savings, I’d have enough money to pay for the rest (and still eat for a few weeks), but the timing’s kind of bad since I need to pay the apartment stuff this week. I can get a cash advance from my credit card, so I think I’m going to end up doing that. Ugh. I know it’s hard right now, but once we’re actually in the apartment, the rent is very reasonable for this area (if Andy and I split it, my half would be about $100 more than I was paying in Indianapolis).

So, because of all that, I’ve been too stressed about money to really enjoy being here just yet. I know there are tons of free and cheap things to do here, but I’m afraid if I go into Manhattan I’ll end up spending money, and I really can’t right now. At all. Food and transportation to job interviews only. Okay,  and maybe a book. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

