Sunny days and rain

Happy Cinco de Mayo!  It’s also the three year anniversary of when I graduated from college. This isn’t exactly where I thought I’d be at this point, but I’m still excited about the direction I’m going.

Yesterday morning I had my interview. I successfully navigated the subway and even got there early! The interview ended up being three interviews in a row, and I was there for two hours.  I think it went well. I now have one more writing assignment that’s more in-depth than the last one. I’m still waiting for them to actually send me what the assignment is. They told me that once I write it and turn it in, it will result in either a job or pay for a freelance article. So I guess it’s a win-win. I definitely have motivation to do well on it.

I looked at an apartment last night. I liked it- the layout was nice, it was big (well, one-bedroom apt in Queens big), and not ridiculously expensive. The location wasn’t too bad- really close to Kris and Erin’s, and about a 10 minute walk away from the subway I’d take if I get this job. I want to make sure I have a job first before I get an apartment, so it’s kind of a weird balancing act.

It’s kind of weird not having a set schedule. I’ve been waking up at 8 without an alarm clock. I’m going to spend my day writing cover letters (and hopefully that article!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunny days and rain

  1. Laura Earley says:

    That’s awesome they’re willing to pay you for the article regardless. Working for free is bs. Their interview process seems really excessive, I hope you get it especially after all that!

  2. Kristin says:

    Thanks! They said it had to do with HR-related concerns (they kind of frown on having people write for them without being compensated). I’m up to 7 interviews, and this will be the third thing I’ve written as part of this application process!

  3. Marianne says:

    Three interviews…you must be a finalist. They wouldn’t give you that much time unless they were VERY interested in hiring you. We all know they would be very lucky to have you work for them. I am sure by now they see that too! Freelance writing isn’t a bad way to go either..would free you up to write your own book.(except for the living expense detail) Have wonderful adventures getting settled and finding you way around the big city. Take pictures and I know you are writing about all this. I am so excited for you! Much Love!

  4. Jess says:

    All good things! This job sounds very, very promising.!

Leave a Reply

