Things I will miss, and not so much- Part 2

I’ve thought of a few more things to add to my list of things I will miss:

  • Girls Pint Out. This group is relatively new, and it’s awesome. It’s a group of women who get together to learn about and drink craft beers. I wish I could have been more involved with this!
  • Upland Wheat beer. It’s local. It’s delicious.
  • Malls.  Castleton, Keystone, and Circle Center. I’ve basically been a mall rat for most of my life. If I’m bored on a weekend afternoon, chances are I’ll go to a mall. I’ve made housing decisions based on their proximity to malls. I know I’ll still have access to shopping in NYC in a very big way, but it won’t be the same.
  • Muncie. Really, lots of things about this town are awesome. Downtown. Ball State’s campus. The constant sound of trains. The references to David Letterman and Garfield. Minnetrista.  The Heorot. Doc’s. The village. Good times.
  • Friends of St. Jude. I’ve volunteered with this group for about a year and a half. We plan events to raise money for St. Jude Children’s research hospital in Memphis. I really like all of the people I’ve worked with on the steering committee and the new members who have been coming to our events, and I’m going to miss them!

I’m sure there are other things I will miss. There might be yet another edition after I leave.

Here are a few things that were intentionally omitted:

  • Driving. You have no idea how happy I am that I won’t have to drive. Anyone who has ridden in the car with me knows that I’m a very paranoid and spastic driver (but only when other people are in the car- I’m fine on my own). I’ve never caused a wreck or gotten a ticket (for driving reasons- can’t say that for expired registration).
  • Snow. Yes, I know they’ll have it in New York. It might even be worse there. But I won’t have to scrape off my car and then try to drive on icy roads.
  • Scotty’s Brewhouse. This may be a bit of a shocker for some people. I’ve loved this restaurant since college. However, I went there a few weeks ago with friends right before a Girls Pint Out event, and one of the drink specials was domestic pitchers for $5, all others for $9.  So, we ordered a pitcher of Upland Wheat (which is made in Bloomington, so it’s VERY domestic). They charged us $9 for it, explaining that the only beers that were considered “domestic” were the crap beers (budweiser, coors, etc). Come on! We wouldn’t have minded paying the $9 for the Upland, but don’t try to tell me it’s not domestic. I’m sorry my relationship w/ Scotty’s had to end like that, because I really do love their dill chips.

In other news, it’s my last day of work! Whoa.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Things I will miss, and not so much- Part 2

  1. Scotty Wise says:

    Ouch. I hate being a restaurant “you will not miss;” but, I did have to add clarification to your post. Upland, nor any micro brewery in the country, is considered a “domestic” beer. We have been open for 14 years and have classified this specials since day one in 1996 as “domestics” at one price and “micro/imports” at another price. We don’t ever intend to mislead our guests, so I’m sorry if you didn’t understand or my staff didn’t do good enough explaining this.

    Best of luck in (what sounds like) NYC. I’m guessing you will think this $9 pitcher was a bargain after being in New York a few months. 🙂

    -Scotty (owner)

  2. Kristin says:

    My main complaint was that the waitress didn’t explain the specials very well. I’m fine with paying the $9 for a pitcher of a beer from a microbrewery, but when the waitress told us about the specials for the evening, she didn’t say that local craft beers weren’t considered domestic. I guess the problem could be resolved by making sure the staff explains it clearly. I wasn’t aware that microbrewery beers weren’t considered “domestic” in the industry, since that seems to go against the definition of the word domestic.

    Don’t worry; we’re cool. Scotty’s Brewhouse was a very special part of my time at Ball State and in Indy, and I’m really going to miss the dill chips! Now I just have to come to terms with the fact that I may not be able to get Upland Wheat ANYWHERE ($9 or otherwise…)

  3. Girls Pint Out says:

    Awww, we’ll miss you too! We can always send an Indiana care package out to you! Minus the dill chips – I think Fed Ex would eat them first! Safe travels and you are The Official Girls Pint Outs Spokesgal for NYC!!!

Leave a Reply

