Don’t tell me not to live, just sit and putter

So, school options.

Option #1

NYU’s Summer Publishing Institute. It’s a 6 week, 9 a.m.-6.p.m every day intensive class. The first three weeks focus on books, and the last three focus on magazines/digital publishing.

Pros:

  • Done in 6 weeks
  • Overview of broader subjects
  • Job fair at the end

Cons:

  • $5000 tuition (due before class starts)
  • Only a broad overview of subjects
  • Most participants are fresh out of college
  • The job fair will probably only have entry level jobs/internships.
  • Living at the dorms for 6 weeks (what would I do with my dog/furniture/boy/etc?)
  • Having to go through application process (= ask boss for letter of rec 4 months before I intend to leave)

Option 2:

Pretty much the exact same program, only at Columbia University

Pros:

  • All of the above pros
  • It’s Ivy League.
  • It focuses more on books than NYU’s summer program

Cons:

  • All of the above cons
  • Required room/board fee (even if I live on my own somewhere)
  • Might not end up with a certificate (Web site doesn’t specify
  • Having to go through application process (= ask boss for letter of rec 4 months before I intend to leave)

Option #3

Certificate in Publishing/Editing from NYU’s Continuing Education program. Basically, I pick five classes, can spread them out over a maximum of 4 years (or could take them all at once), and end up with a certificate.

Pros

  • Can take specific classes just focusing on books (grammar intensive! fundamentals of manuscript editing! oh my!)
  • Cheaper- each class is $300-500, and I wouldn’t have to do it all at once. (Which would make the  whole moving/getting into an apartment process less scary)
  • All classes are in the evenings or on Saturdays, so I could have a full-time job and still take classes
  • Classes are taught by industry professionals from major publishing houses
  • No grad school-esque application process. I just sign up and pay

Cons

  • Classes will be full of people who just signed up and paid (or young professionals like me trying to get into publishing…)
  • Classes might not be offered during the summer (I have yet to find info anywhere online about this, but this could actually be a pro because I’d have a more flexible moving date…)
  • Will take longer to finish.

I’m definitely leaning toward option three. I still have time to apply to the other two programs, but work’s going to be extremely busy this quarter, and I don’t know if announcing I’m leaving/asking for a letter of recommendation would go over very well right now. After looking at the class descriptions, I realized I want to take almost all of them. I don’t really want to just apply for the grad program at this point, but it’s nice to be this excited about something.

Speaking of exciting things- I paid off my credit card on Friday!!! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t tell me not to live, just sit and putter

  1. Cristella says:

    Hi Kristin!

    I got here from your recent tweet. I didn’t realize you were blogging about your plans.

    Don’t know if you’ve made a decision on your programs yet, but one of the things that stuck out to me was “Classes are taught by industry professionals from major publishing houses” in the third program. This is a major plus, imo. In my grad program, I wished I’d had more practical advice and experience. I think it would have helped a lot since we got a whole lot of theory that has not been as beneficial as the job experience has been. Hopefully with the advice and mentor ship from actual professionals you would also get contacts and a leg up in the industry.

Leave a Reply

