We won’t have to drive too far. Just ‘cross the border and into the city.

I finally got my credit card debt to a manageable 3-digit number that’s approximately 1/4 of my take home pay a few weeks ago. The plan is was to pay it off with my December 14 paycheck, then budget some cash for Christmas shopping, and then pay off my couch in January, which would mean my only remaining debt would have been my car and student loans.

Then a rock hit my windshield and made a tiny- blemish? on my way up to A’s house for Thanksgiving. I tried to fix it myself with a $10 repair kit from Sears, but that just made it worse, and now there’s a 7 inch crack. I got my insurance company involved, and it looks like I’ll be buying a $350 windshield this week. So much for paying off the card by the end of 2009.

I wrote a facebook status about being a paying-off-debt fail, and my mom commented on it that I’m not a fail- it’s just life. She has a point I guess. I was just really looking forward to paying it off this year. It’s nice to know that in a few months, if things like this happen, I’ll actually have a bit of a savings safety net.

I’m really looking forward to not having a car at all. I spent $60 at Sears on the repair kit and an oil change. At least my car is staying well-maintained so I can sell it when I leave.

Aside from all that, I feel like my finances are pretty much under control. I made a very detailed spreadsheet with a lot of ridiculous formulas, but it’s helping me figure out exactly how much money I’ll be able to put in savings by the end of May. It automatically calculates any time anything changes (like the windshield).

__

I’ve been looking at Craigslist apartments, and see at least 2 or 3 every day that I’d love and would be in the price range we’re shooting for. I also have been looking at Web sites for publishing houses, and the one I’m most interested in has an editorial assistant job opening in Children’s books. Basically, exactly what I want to do. I’m thinking about applying for it, but I’m not sure if I should since I really don’t plan on moving out there for 6 months.

Tomorrow marks my official 1 year anniversary at my job! (not counting the months I temped there before I was hired- that was in September). 1 year= a company match on my 401(k) and the ability to apply for other jobs within the company. I don’t intend to do that given my other plans, but I guess it’s nice to know I could.

 

I’ll write about my education options tomorrow- there have been some new developments in the past few weeks. There will be pros/cons lists involved.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

