Two drifters off to see the world. There’s such a lot of world to see.

I kind of feel like a financial failure. October’s supposed to be my month that I pay off all of my credit card debt (three paychecks+at least one bonus, possibly two). But then I had to go and buy plane tickets and some new clothes and charge them on my credit card. And since I bought the plane tickets, I need to budget some money to spend while I’m in NYC (instead of using my extra funds to pay off my card). We haven’t booked a hotel yet because we’re still trying to find a friend’s couch to crash on. I hope we can do that.

The credit card should be paid off with my first December paycheck, and I should be able to pay off my couch then too (leaving me with no credit card debt). I just need to have a little more discipline financially right now. I know I’m in a much better position than a lot of people- I have a good job and can afford to pay all of my bills.

I went to the library the other day and got a few books that take place in New York. I think for the next few weeks, I need to spend my time reading free library books about New York City instead of walking around the mall trying to find cute outfits to wear when I’m there in November.

The weather has definitely made a point of announcing that it’s fall. I think that’s part of what makes me feel like shopping. I think I’ll start knitting a scarf instead. I should try to work through my box of yarn before I move.

I feel like this whole plan of moving to NYC has become a lot more real in the last few weeks. It’s kind of a weird feeling. But good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

